Andhra University Visakhapatnam’s Famous Alumni

Andhra University, Visakhapatnam
Andhra University

Andhra University, the pride of Vizag, was established way back in 1926 and ranks second best amongst all state universities and eight amongst the top universities of India. It is one of the oldest universities that still manage to successfully put out students who have gone on to conquer top positions in their chosen fields. Let’s have a look at some of the famous alumni of Andhra University.


  • M Venkaiah Naidu – Union Minister of Urban Development, Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation and Parliamentary Affairs (bachelor’s degree in Law with specialisation in International Law from Law College, Andhra University)

Andhra University

Source: smartcity eletsonline
  • M.M.Pallam Raju – former Minister of State for Defence (BE Electronics and Communication)Andhra University
Source: Alchetron 
  • Dr. G.M.C. Balayogi, Former Speaker of Lok Sabha (Law degree)

Andhra University

Source: Rediff
  • Mrs. Panabaka Lakshmi, Former Union MinisterAndhra University
Source: Hindu Business Line
  • J.D. Seelam, former Member of Parliament (MSc Chemistry)
Andhra UniversitySource: UN

Bureaucrats / Government agencies :

  • Dr. Duvvuri Subba Rao, Former Governer, Reserve Bank India (PhD Economics)
  • Dr. D. Swaminadhan – Member, Planning Commission (BE Civil Engineering)
  • Dr.T.G.K.Murthy,Scientific Adviser to Government of India, Formerly ISRO, Bangalore (PG in Optical Engineering)
  • Dr. V.Adi Murthy, Distinguished Scientist, ISRO
  • Dr. V.Vignesam, ISRO, Head, Satellite Division
  • Prof. K. Satchidanda Murthy, Former Vice-Chairman, UGC & recipient of Padma Vibhushan Award
  • P.Kotaiah, Former Chairman, NABARD

Business :

  • Founding Director and former Joint Managing Director of Infosys (BE Electrical Engineering)
  • Dr. Grandhi Mallikharjuna Rao – Chairman, GMR Group of companies (BE Mechanical Engineering)Andhra University
Source: Business Today
  • V Ravi Prakash – CEO of TV9 news channel
  • Mr. Rambabu – Ex – President, E. I. D. Parry Ltd
  • Mr. Sudhakar Rao – Director, Hindustal Aeronautics Ltd.
  • Mr. A. Ramakrishna – Deputy Chairman, L & T
  • Dr. K.Mukunda Rao, CEO, Navayuga
  • Dr. P. R. Rao, Vice President, Dr. Reddy Labs

International :

  • A Premchand – Former Director, International Monetary Fund
  • P.A.V.B.Swamy, Federal Reserve, USA (MA Economics)
  • Mr. Satyanarayana – NASA
  • Dr. K.V.S.Rama Rao, NASA
  • Dr. Y.Syamala Devi, Bell Labs
  • Dr. V.N. Murty, World Bank

Academics :

  • Prof. C.R. Rao, Padma Vibhushan Awardee (world renowned statistician)
  • Prof. Krishna Palepu, Harvard Business School Harvard Business School(M.Sc Physics)
  • Prof. M. Venkata Rangaiah, Padma Bhushan (financial and political scientist)
  • Prof. S. Gopal, Padma Vibhushan (historian)
  • Prof. Srihari Nelakuditi, Prof. of Computer Science, University of South Carolina
  • Prof. P. Ramana Murthy – Purdue University
  • Prof. Sunkara Mahendra – Professor Chemical Engineering University of Louisville, Kentucky, USA  (B Tech Chemical Engineering)
  • Prof. G. Pandurangaiah – Department of Chemical Engineering, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Prof. Seeram Ramakrishna, Vice-President, National University of Singapore
  • Dr. U. R.Prasad – Professor, IISc
  • Prof.S.B.Krupanidhi, – Centre for Material Sciences, IISc
  • Prof. J.Naga Raju – Dept. Of Instrumentation, IISc
  • Prof. U.Rammurthy, Professor, Materials Engineering Department, IISc
  • Prof. V.S. Raju – Director IIT Delhi
  • Dr. K.Ravishankar, Materials Engineering Department, IIT Madras
  • Prof. M. Radha Krishna, IIT, Mumbai
  • Prof. R. Ravikumar, IIM Bangalore
  • Dr Krishna Tanuku, Executive Director of the Wadhwani Centre for Entrepreneurship Development (WCED), Indian School of Business Hyderabad
  • a number of other Assistant, Associate Professors in various reputed colleges such as IITs and NITs

Films :

  • Trivikram Srinivas, director (M Sc Nuclear Physics – gold medalist)Andhra University
Credit: Hans India
  • R P Patnaik, music director (PG in Astro-Physics)Andhra University
  • Shobu Yarlagadda, Indian American film producer (BE Civil and Environmental Engineering). He is son-in-law of famous director K Raghavendra Rao

Andhra University

Source: Movielala

For the students who are studying at Andhra University at the moment, we hope you find your place in the list some day too.

Story Source: Quora
Feature Image Source: 500px


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *