IPL 2018 auction LIVE: Here’s how the bidding war for the players has been panning out

ipl 2018, auction
(Representational Image)

The world’s biggest domestic T20 cricket league, IPL 2018, will be rolling out its 11th edition this year. With Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) set to make a comeback this year, the auction has been garnering a lot of interest from several quarters. A plethora of cricketers, from across the world, have made themselves available to participate in this year’s cricketing extravaganza. Here’s how the two-day auction, which started today, has been panning out.

English all-rounder Ben Stokes once again emerged as the prized-scalp as several franchises went out all guns blazing for him. The flamboyant cricketer was finally bought by Rajasthan Royals for a whopping Rs 12.5 Cr. Australian players Chris Lynn and Mitchell Starc have been bought by Kolkata Night Riders for Rs 9.60 Cr and Rs 9.40 Cr respectively. Star all-rounder Glenn Maxwell too struck gold as he went for a massive Rs 9 Cr to Delhi Daredevils.

The franchises, as expected, once again were highly interested in bagging the Indian players. Karnataka stars Manish Pandey and KL Rahul have been bought for a whopping Rs 11 Cr each by Sunrisers Hyderabad and Kings XI Punjab respectively.

While many players have already started making heft amounts at the auction, the biggest surprise turned out to be the fact that there were no takers for the likes of Chris Gayle and Joe Root. The unsold players will, however, made available once again later in the bid.

Here are the details of the players who went under the hammer today:

PlayerTeamPrice (in INR)Player Type
Shikhar DhawanSunrisers Hyderabad (RTM)5.2 croreBatsman
Ravichandran AshwinKings XI Punjab7.6 croreBowler
Kieron PollardMumbai Indians (RTM)5.4 croreAll Rounder
Chris GayleUnsoldN/ABatsman
Ben StokesRajasthan Royals12.5 croreAll Rounder
Faf du PlessisChennai Super Kings (RTM)1.6 croreBatsman
Ajinkya RahaneRajasthan Royals4 croreBatsman
Mitchell StarcKolkata Knight Riders9.4 croreBowler
Harbhajan SinghChennai Super Kings2 croreBowler
Shakib Al HasanSunrisers Hyderabad2 croreAll Rounder
Glenn MaxwellDelhi Daredevils9 croreAll Rounder
Gautam GambhirDelhi Daredevils2.8 croreBatsman
Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings6.4 croreAll Rounder
Kane WilliamsonSunrisers Hyderabad3 croreBatsman
Joe RootUnsoldN/ABatsman
Yuvraj SinghKings XI Punjab2 croreAll Rounder
Karun NairKings XI Punjab5.6 croreBatsman
KL RahulKings XI Punjab11 croreBatsman
Murali VijayUnsoldN/ABatsman
David MillerKings XI Punjab (RTM)6 croreBatsman
Aaron FinchKings XI Punjab6.2 croreBatsman
Brendon McCullumRoyal Challengers Bangalore3.6 croreBatsman
Jason RoyDelhi Daredevils1.5 croreBatsman
Chris LynnKolkata Knight Riders9.6 croreBatsman
Hashim AmlaUnsoldN/ABatsman
Manish PandeySunrisers Hyderabad11 croreBatsman
Martin GuptillUnsoldN/ABatsman
Chris WoakesRoyal Challengers Bangalore7.4 croreAll Rounder
Carlos BrathwaiteSunrisers Hyderabad2 croreAll Rounder
Shane WatsonChennai Super Kings4 croreAll Rounder
Kedar JadhavChennai Super Kings7.8 croreAll Rounder
Colin de GrandhommeRoyal Challengers Bangalore2.2 croreAll Rounder
James FaulknerUnsoldN/AAll Rounder
Yusuf PathanSunrisers Hyderabad1.9 croreAll Rounder
Colin MunroDelhi Daredevils1.9 croreAll Rounder
Stuart BinnyRajasthan Royals50 lakhAll Rounder
Marcus StoinisKings XI Punjab6.2 croreAll Rounder
Moeen AliRoyal Challengers Bangalore1.7 croreAll Rounder
Parthiv PatelUnsoldN/AWicket Keeper
Quinton de KockRoyal Challengers Bangalore2.8 croreWicket Keeper
Wriddhiman SahaSunrisers Hyderabad5 croreWicket Keeper
Johnny BairstowUnsoldN/AWicket Keeper
Dinesh KarthikKolkata Knight Riders7.4 croreWicket Keeper
Naman OjhaUnsoldN/AWicket Keeper
Robin UthappaKolkata Knight Riders (RTM)7.4 croreWicket Keeper
Sanju SamsonRajasthan Royals8 croreWicket Keeper
Ambati RayuduChennai Super Kings2.2 croreWicket Keeper
Sam BillingsUnsoldN/AWicket Keeper
Jos ButtlerRajasthan Royals4.4 croreWicket Keeper
Mustafizur RahmanMumbai Indians2.2 croreBowler
Mitchell JohnsonUnsoldN/ABowler
Josh HazlewoodUnsoldN/ABowler
Pat CumminsMumbai Indians5.4 croreBowler
Umesh YadavRoyal Challengers Bangalore4.2 croreBowler
Tim SoutheeUnsoldN/ABowler
Ishant SharmaUnsoldN/ABowler
Mohammad ShamiDelhi Daredevils (RTM)3 croreBowler
Mitchell McClenaghanUnsoldN/ABowler
Kagiso RabadaDelhi Daredevils (RTM)4.2 croreBowler
Lasith MalingaUnsoldN/ABowler
Piyush ChawlaKolkata Knight Riders (RTM)4.2 croreBowler
Imran TahirChennai Super Kings1 croreBowler
Ish SodhiUnsoldN/ABowler
Karn SharmaChennai Super Kings5 croreBowler
Rashid KhanSunrisers Hyderabad (RTM)9 croreBowler
Amit MishraDelhi Daredevils4 croreBowler
Samuel BadreeUnsoldN/ABowler
Yuzvendra ChahalRoyal Challengers Bangalore (RTM)6 croreBowler
Adam ZampaUnsoldN/ABowler
Kuldeep YadavKolkata Knight Riders (RTM)5.8 croreBowler

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *