Andhra Premier League to be state’s own T20 cricket tournament

Andhra T20 league
image credits- New Indian Express

In what has come as a pleasant news for the cricket fans in Andhra Pradesh, the Andhra Cricket Association has decided to organize a state T20 cricket premier league. The tournament, which will be called as Andhra Premier League (APL), will be taking place over a one-month span starting from December 2017.

The T20 tournaments of Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) and Karnataka Premier League (KPL) are doing well in terms of attracting crowds and revenue generation. APL will be the latest to join the list of state T20 premier leagues.

The catch line of the tournament is ‘Your time is now’.  This league will prove to be a major stepping platform for many budding talents in the state. In fact, once these youngsters perform well in such tournaments, they will surely be in line for IPL selections as different franchises will be keeping a close watch on these tournaments for picking some bright prospects. Also, there’s a possibility that some established star players might also participate in the tournament to add the much-needed flair to it. However, it has to be noted that only the players from Andhra Pradesh will be allowed to play in this tournament.

The tournament brochure says “Our aim is to spark the feelings and taste of the game in everyone’s life. Life is there to be enjoyed and we endeavour to provide new experiences that excite the senses and inspire all ages to feel the game.”

The teams of the T20 league

The Andhra Cricket Association (ACA) revealed that the T20 tournament will feature six teams. These will be Bezawada, Guntur, Vizag, Nellore, Kadapa, and Godavari district. The teams have also been named as follows:

Bezawada Baadshahs

Guntur Mirchis

Vizag Whales

Nellore Lions

Kadapa Kings

Godavari Jaguars

So which team will you be cheering for?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *