The Seventh edition of Andhra Pradesh inter-district senior men’s hockey championship proved fruitful for the host city, Visakhapatnam, who emerged as champions in their finals against Guntur on Jan 31st, 2017 at the Port Stadium (Vizag).

After displaying a strong start at the championship inauguration on Jan 28th, with a 4-0 victory against Krishna, Team Vizag went ahead to beat East-Godavari with a score of 4-1, grabbing a spot in the finals on Jan 30th (Monday).

The finals against Guntur was a closely contested match as neither of the teams was willing to give into the heat of the match or risk taking any steps that could work in the opponents favor.  Players from both the teams put a great show, but a few names tend to stand out for their exceptional performance at the championship: Nagendra & Krishna Kishore from Vizag and Keerthi & Ajay Babu from Guntur. With the host team having an edge over Guntur, the match was won by Vizag team with a score of 3-2 in the grueling final showdown at the Port Diamond Jubilee Stadium here on Tuesday.

The Andhra Pradesh Secretary of Hockey,  M. Niranjan Reddy seemed quite impressed with the way the event of organized and appreciated all the organizers & sponsors, who have come forward to encourage and support the growth of Hockey in our country.

The winning team received the champions trophy from GSVSSS Prasad Sarma, Executive Director of Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Limited (HPCL) in the presence of senior officials from Hockey Department of Andhra Pradesh and Visakhapatnam.


Image Courtesy:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *