Visakhapatnam city gets new police chief

police, vizag
Image for representation

In a major reshuffle of police officers, Mahesh Chandra Laddha has been appointed as the Visakhapatnam Police Commissioner. The Inspector General of Police, working in the Intelligence Department, will be replacing T. Yoganand, who has been posted as the Additional Commissioner at Vijayawada Police Commissionerate. T. Yoganand had donned the mantle of the Visakhapatnam’s Commissioner of Police in May 2016.

Laddha was previously appointed as in-charge of Special Investigation Team (SIT) formed to investigate the M-Hotel Liquor tragedy in 2015.

1989-batch IPS officer, Ch Dwaraka Tirumala Rao, has been appointed as the Commissioner of Police for Vijayawada city. While Visakhapatnam’s Joint Commissioner of Police, T. Ravi Kumar Murthy, has been appointed as Eluru Range DIG, Shemushi Bajpai has been posted as SP at Rajamahendravaram.

The transfers were notified after Director General of Police, RP Thakur, discussed them with Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu.

Other transfers include B Krishna Rao, 2014 batch IPS officer, posted as ASP, Tulluru in the currently existing vacancy. Ajitha Vejandla, 2015 batch officer, has been posted as ASP, South Rajamahendravaram.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *