Knowing Visakhapatnam: Basic information about the district that you need to know

vizag, summit
Image for representation

Once a small fishing village, Visakhapatnam today is a busy port with the distinct advantage of a natural harbour. Its geographical advantage has made this city the headquarters of the Eastern Naval Command of the Indian Navy. In addition, a number of major industries, shipbuilding yard, a huge dry dock, a mega oil refinery, software giants, a massive steel and power plant make Vizag one of the modern faces of India. At the same time, Vizag has nestled within her, a rich legacy of ancient and historical sites of religious, cultural and natural significance. And all this progress and preservation of heritage has taken place in the midst of the awe-inspiring Eastern Ghats with the hills on one side and the azure waters of Bay of Bengal on the other.

With the booming tourism and industrial sectors, Vizag is no longer a place that is little known. Busy, bustling and thriving, the city is on the cusp of achieving greater things in the coming future. Here is some basic information about Vizag that you need to know.

#1 Geographical area

The total area of the district is 11,161

#2 District population

According to the Census 2011, the population of the district was reported to be 42,88,113, with 47.51% of it living in the urban area. The numbers, however, are expected to be higher in the coming Census.

#3 GDP

The Gross Domestic Product (GDP) of the district is $43.5 billion, making it one of the top 10 richest cities in India.

#4 Loksabha Constituencies




#5 Members of Parliament (present)

Anakapalle- Muttamsetti Srinivasa Rao (Telugu Desam Party)

Araku- Kothapalli Geetha (YSR Congress Party)

Visakhapatnam- Kambhampati Hari Babu (Bharatiya Janata Party)

#6 Assembly Constituencies










Araku Valley

Visakhapatnam East

Visakhapatnam West

Visakhapatnam North

Visakhapatnam South


#7 Members of Legislative Assembly (present)

Anakapalle- Peela Govinda Satyanarayana (Telugu Desam Party)

Bheemili- Ganta Srinivasa Rao (Telugu Desam Party)

Chodavaram- Kalidinidi Surya Naga Sanyasi Raju (Telugu Desam Party)

Yelamanchili- Panchakarla Ramesh Babu (Telugu Desam Party)

Madugula- Budi Mutyala Naidu (YSR Congress Party)

Narsipatnam- Chintakayala Ayyanna Patrudu (Telugu Desam Party)

Paderu- Giddi Eswari (YSR Congress Party)

Pendurthi- Bandaru Satyanarayana Murthy (Telugu Desam Party)

Payakaraopet- Vangalapudi Anitha (Telugu Desam Party)

Araku Valley- Post the death of Kidari Sarveshwara Rao, his son, Kidari Sravan Kumar has been inducted into the Andhra Pradesh Cabinet.

Visakhapatnam East- Ramakrishna Babu Velagapudi (Telugu Desam Party)

Visakhapatnam West- PGVR Naidu (Telugu Desam Party)

Visakhapatnam North- Penmetsa Vishnu Kumar Raju (Bharatiya Janata Party)

Visakhapatnam South- Vasupalli Ganesh Kumar (Telugu Desam Party)

Gajuwaka- Palla Srinivasa Rao (Telugu Desam Party)

Information as on 17 November 2018

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *