Congress names its candidate for Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha seat

visakhapatnam lok sabha seat
Image for representation

As political parties continue to announce candidates for Lok Sabha and Assembly constituencies across Andhra Pradesh, Congress has declared Pedada Ramani Kumari as the candidate to contest for the Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha seat in the upcoming elections. The Congress also announced candidates for five more Assembly seats in Visakhapatnam.

In 2014 elections, Congress fielded Kumari for the Assembly seat from Visakhapatnam West. However, she lost the contest to PGVR Naidu of Telugu Desam Party.

Pedada Ramani Kumari, who is the City Mahila Congress president, will be taking the field against  VV Lakshminarayana of Janasena Party, Sri Bharat of Telugu Desam Party (TDP), MVV Satyanarayana of YSR Congress Party (YSRCP), Purandeswari Daggubati of Bharatiya Janta Paty (BJP), and a few independent candidates to contest for the Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha seat.

The Congress had earlier announced V Sruthi Devi and Sreeram Murthy as the party’s candidates for the Lok Sabha seat of Araku and Anakapalle respectively. It may be noted that Naraharasetti Narasimha Rao will be contesting for the Vijayawada Lok Sabha constituency while J. Lakshmi Narasimha Yadav will take the field from the Nandyal Lok Sabha seat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *