Indian cricket team achieves a new record under Virat Kohli

indian cricket team
indian cricket team

The Indian Cricket team has achieved a unique feat. After defeating Sri Lanka on Sunday, the Kohli army went on to register its eighth consecutive series victory between 2015 and 2017.

The details

The Indian cricket team started off their undefeated run right here in Sri Lanka back in 2015. They defeated Sri Lanka 2-1 and grew from strength to strength from there on. Following Sri Lanka, they then crushed the visiting South Africans by a 3-0 margin.

The Indian then went to the Carribean to put another series win in their kitty. What followed immediately was an extremely successful home season. The Indian cricket team defeated New Zealand, England, Bangladesh and Australia to stamp their authority in whites.

In the process, they even conquered the number one spot in the ICC Test Rankings. Now with their latest series win over the Lankans, the Indians have sealed their eighth consecutive series win and are only behind Australia. The Australians hold the record for most number of consecutive test wins. They had won a record 9 series between 2006 and 2008.

Currently, the Indian cricket team seems to be pretty solid in each department of the game. They have a settled core unit that’s gaining experience with each game. It shouldn’t be a surprise if they do manage to surpass Australia’s record.

The Road Ahead for Indian Cricket Team

The Indians have a packed home season coming their way. After the Sri Lanka tour, it will host Australia, New Zealand, and Sri Lanka for a total of three Tests, eleven ODIs, and nine T20s. Subsequently, they will tour South Africa to face the Proteas where their biggest challenge lies.

To face the competent South Africans in their own backyard isn’t an easy job. Many Indian teams of the past have failed to challenge the Proteas in South Africa. However, the hopes on this current young Indian side to deliver are high. It’ll be interesting to see if they do deliver the goods and manage to beat the South Africans.


Image credits- Cricket Australia


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *