News/City Updates

Vysakhi Nrithyotsav 2019 set to light up Visakhapatnam

Vysakhi Nrithyotsav 2019, 12th All India Dance Festival will be held at Kalabharathi Auditorium in Visakhapatnam on September 21, 22 and 23.

Keeping up its tradition, the selection committee of Nataraj Music and Dance Academy (NMDA), Visakhapatnam handpicked stalwarts from the fields of Indian classical dance. Vysakhi Nrithyotsav 2019 is being organised with the support of the Ministry of Culture, Andhra Pradesh Creativity and Culture Commission and Indian Council for Cultural Relations (ICCR). The festival, held under the supervision of BR Vikram Kumar, Festival Director, Founder President of NMDA and Editor of The Dance India annually has been known for its punctuality and discipline.

Vysakhi Nrithyotsav 2019 would be inaugurated by Muttamsetti Srinivasa Rao, Minister for Tourism, Culture and Youth advancement, Government of Andhra Pradesh and Vadarevu Vinay Chand, IAS, District Collector of Visakhapatnam on Saturday evening. After the performances, artistes would be felicitated and awarded by the guests. Each day would witness three distinct Indian art form presentations – making it nine performances on three days.

The second day of Vysakhi Nrithyotsav would have MVV Satyanarayana, Member of Lok Sabha as Chief Guest and Mavuri Venkata Ramana, CMD, Chandana Brothers, and MVR Shopping Mall as Guest of Honour.

The final day of Vysakhi Nrithyotsav in Visakhapatnam would see Naresh Penumaka, IRS, Chief Commissioner of Customs and Central Excise as Chief Guest and Dr. Ajit Pathak, National President of Public Relations Society of India as Guest of Honour. International Lighting Designer, Sai Venkatesh from Bengaluru will take care of the lighting. Vikram announced that the festival which is being organised with great effort has no entry fee and all are invited to watch the grand spectacle.

21-09-2019 Kuchipudi S. Geeta Narayan (Visakhapatnam)
21-09-2019 Bharatanatyam Sutapa Awon Pradhan (West Bengal)
21-09-2019 Odissi Kumkum Mohanty (Bhubaneswar)
22-09-2019 Mohini Attam Dr. Kanak Rele (Mumbai)
22-09-2019 Odissi Gauwri Dwivedi (New Delhi)
22-09-2019 Bharatanatyam Dr. G. Ratheesh Babu (Chattisgarh)
23-09-2019 Kathak Guru Jitendra Maharaj, Nalini Kamalini (New Delhi)
23-09-2019 Kuchipudi Naatyasri KV Lakshmi (Visakhapatnam)
23-09-2019 Thang-Ta Rosen Longjamba (Manipur)


Leave a Comment

Recent Posts

Stunning sunrise spots in India to visit for magical early mornings

Mornings are truly a spectacular time of the day. The tranquillity of solitude is at…

13 hours ago

Vizag: Indulge in the flavors of Gajuwaka at these top food spots to satisfy your hunger

Gajuwaka is a bustling suburb in the City of Destiny with a variety of cuisines…

13 hours ago

Notch up your weekend entertainment with these 13 movies and 5 web series releasing today on OTT

With the Indian Premier League beginning, there is no need for us to look past…

14 hours ago

Visit these pleasant valleys spread across India for a tranquil vacation this summer

When considering travel destinations, most people tend to look for places that are trending or…

15 hours ago

Head out to these cafes and restaurants to catch a screening of IPL matches in Vizag

It's that time of the year again when our favourite stars and IPL franchises are…

15 hours ago

Vizag: From street food to restaurants, here are recommendations by locals

The city of Vizag beckons tourists all year across the country. With destinations spanning from…

18 hours ago