News/City Updates

New NREDCAP Chairman and VMRDA Chairperson take charge in Vizag

Visakhapatnam Metropolitan Region Development Authority’s (VMRDA) new Chairperson and Renewable Energy Development Corporation of Andhra Pradesh’s (NREDCAP) Chairman took charge on Thursday in Vizag.

VMRDA new Chairperson Akramani Vijaya Nirmala signed her appointment letter in the presence of Andhra Pradesh State Tourism Minister, Muttamsetti Srinivasa Rao, and VMRDA Commissioner, K Venkata Ramana Reddy, on Thursday. 

The VMRDA Chairperson post has been lying vacant since October 2020. Ms. Nirmala succeeds the late Dronamraju Srinivasa Rao who died

of Covid-19 last year. 

Ms. Vijaya Nirmala is known to have played a significant role in the recently held Greater Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation (GVMC) elections in March 2021. Earlier, she also contested for the seat of Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) from Visakhapatnam (East) Constituency in 2019 where she lost to V Ramakrishna Babu of the Telugu Desam Party (TDP). 

In another such event, KK Raju took oath as the Chairman of New and Renewable Energy Development Corporation of Andhra Pradesh (NREDCAP). To mark the occasion, a bike rally was held from his party office to Andhra University Convention Hall in Vizag. 

The swearing-in ceremony was held in the presence of the Andhra Pradesh Minister for Housing, Ranganadha Raju, AP Tourism Minister Muttamsetti Srinivasa Rao, Visakhapatnam Mayor Golagani Hari Venkata Kumari and NREDCAP MD SV Ramana Reddy. 

Speaking at the ceremony, Mr. Srinivasa Rao thanked AP Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy for filling 80 percent of the nominated posts from the BC/SC/ST and minority communities. Mr. Raju is known to have played a significant role in the Greater Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation (GVMC) elections as North Constituency in charge of the YSR Congress Party (YSRCP).  

Visakhapatnam Member of Parliament (MP) MVV Satyanarayana, Anakapalle MLA Gudivada Amarnath, and MLAs Vasupalli Ganesh Kumar and G. Babu Rao were among those who spoke at the oath-taking ceremony.  

Leave a Comment

Recent Posts

Visakhapatnam court delivers verdict on 1996 Dalit youths tonsure case

A landmark verdict was delivered by the Visakhapatnam court today, on 16 April 2024, in…

12 hours ago

Five youths apprehended for stone-pelting incident targeting CM Jagan

On Tuesday, 16 April 2024, the Vijayawada City Police reportedly detained five suspects in the…

13 hours ago

IMD sounds heatwave alert in Visakhapatnam: Check areas affected and safety tips

For residents of Andhra Pradesh (AP), respite from the scorching sun seems far-off as the…

16 hours ago

NITI Aayog Grants Atal Incubation Centre to IIM Visakhapatnam

The Indian Institute of Management, Visakhapatnam (IIMV) has been bestowed with an Atal Incubation Centre…

1 day ago

Stone thrown at Chandrababu Naidu in Gajuwaka 

Close on the heels of the attack on Chief Minister Y S Jaganmohan Reddy in…

2 days ago

Atcuhtapuram to Ayodhya in 9 days: Vizag cyclist talks about his journey

John F Kennedy, the 35th President of the United States, once said, "Nothing compares to…

3 days ago